You Say You Want An Evolution Part One

Standard

This is one in a series of  short snippets detailing my musical journey-starting with my early introductions to music and culminating with what I am listening to today. Though it is my wish to eventually shine a brighter light on the art and artists than my own personal experiences, I have chosen to primarily focus on the latter for the time being. While this blog will always contain details that are probably more interesting to those who know me well, it is with great anticipation that I look forward to featuring other people’s experiences soon!

There are countless people and experiences that help shape one’s musical tastes and often times it starts when we are young. According to babyzone.com, “Prenatal stimulation is a method that uses stimuli such as sounds (mother’s voice and musical ones), movement, pressure, vibrations, and light to communicate with a developing baby prior to birth. While in the womb, Baby learns to recognize and respond to different stimuli, which leads to encouragement of physical, mental, and sensory development.”

I can’t say definitively when my love for music began, but my earliest recollections include attending local concerts when I was young enough to be carried out to the car by my father, listening to 8-track tapes of Elvis, Jim Croce and Waylon Jennings in my parents’ den and hearing my brothers blast Ted Nugent’s Cat Scratch Fever, Pink Floyd’s The Wall and Rick Dee’s classic novelty song, “Disco Duck,” among others, on the rec room record player. Perhaps it was the Freddy Fender concert I attended when I was 5 at the local car dealership that sealed the deal, I don’t know. What I can say with absolute certainty is I received my very own radio at the age of 8 and have not gone a day without listening to music since then.

Leave a Reply

